Thursday, 9 July 2009

Danday Reviews: Klonoa 2: Dream Champ Tournament

Before reading this review, please check out the video below for DJTJ222's first review of Pain! for the PSN. Many thanks!

Console: GameBoy Advance
Age Rating: E (US)
Publisher: Namco
Developer: Klonoa Works
NOTE! This game is not released in UK. However, due to the GBA having no region lock, you can play the US version just fine on a UK GBA or DS! :)

One thing I can say from the off is that the whole Klonoa series is brilliant. The fun filled 2.5D gameplay of the console games on PS1, PS2 and Wii and the plain and classic 2D gameplay of the first GBA Klonoa, Dream Champ Tournnament has a good history under it's belt, but is it any good?
First thing is that the game is basically similar to the first GBA Klonoa game, Empire of Dreams. That is usually a bad thing because gamers want variety, not repetitiviness, but DCT adds some little changes that not only gives the game at least SOME variety, but also makes the game true to what made Klonoa great in the first place.
Next is the story. The story is, well, eh. I never really payed attention to the story in this game. I mean, it's no Door to Phantomile story wise, sadly, but I assume it's kind of like Sonic Riders's story, just without that annoying prick known as Jet the Hawk.
The gameplay is simple. D-Pad is movement, A is jump/hover and B is wind bullet, simple stuff.
The aim is very simple, use eniemes to get past the hazards in game and find three tablets to complete the level. However, unlike EOD, this game has a ranking system based on Dream Crystals collected, number of times hit and number of retrys. Getting an S rank requires you to get the special sun tablet thingy. Completing visions removes pieces from special unlockable art, but that's minor.
All in all, despite being nearly the exact same as Empire of Dreams, Klonoa 2: Dream Champ Tournament is a great game for your GBA. It's fun, addicting and above all, it's bloody Klonoa!

Score: 9.0/10


Sunday, 28 June 2009

Danday Reviews: Klonoa '09

Console: Wii
Age Rating: 3+ (EU) A (JP) E10+ (US)
Publisher: Bandai Namco
Developer: Paon

Klonoa is a video game series by Namco that I assume is meant to tag along with Namco's mascot, Pac-Man.
To me, however, I think that Namco's yellow druggie doesn't really cut it for me.
I would prefer the long eared, non-consistently clothed titular character any day.
Now don't say that the above sentence was negative. Oh no, I LOVE Klonoa, he is one of my favourite video game characters, up there with Sonic and Mega Man.
But what makes Klonoa games so good and fun?
Well, I'm going to be showing you Klonoa, or Klonoa Wii, or, as I call it, Klonoa '09.
The game, as shown by the Japanese name, is a re-vamped port of Namco's 1997 brilliant, yet underrated, Klonoa: Door to Phantomile.
The story is the exact same thing. Klonoa and his ring spirit friend, Hewpoe are out on a quest to stop Ghadius from filling the world with nightmares.
The game play is similar too, with only some minor changes, such as the ability to slow down enemies, via a Whirlwind move.
The graphics in the game are a definite candidate for the best looking Wii game, up there with Super Mario Galaxy (admittedly) and Sonic and the Black Knight (What? The game looked awesome)
One big gripe most reviewers have with the game is the difficulty being FAR too easy, and, unfortunately, they're right.
Though there is other stuff to do, such as the time attack mode, or collecting missed stuff in the other Visions, the main story can be completed in around 3 or 4 hours.
The cut scenes in Klonoa: DTP were a cross between emotionally scaring to a bit tongue-in-cheek. Namco have kept that in the '09 version. Two famous cut scenes....
...Grandpa's death and the ending still have that emotional touch in them.
Another downside most reviewers have is the voice acting.
I disagree, I think the English voice acting in this game is actually BETTER than the Phantomile language. Sure, there are some downsides, such as the last cut scene not being as touching as the PS1 one, but the Phantomile language for Klonoa sounds FAR to over-the-top. But Hewpoe does speak ALOT in this game, but you'll overcome it.

All in all, Klonoa '09 is such an amazing port of an already amazing game. The graphics, the game play, EVERYTHING in this game has kept what made the original such a great game.
And it's cheap too! You can find it for about £15!
It's a definite buy for one of the best games on the Wii.

Score: 9.9/10

Thursday, 11 June 2009

Danday Reviews: Pimp My Ride

Consoles: Xbox 360, PS2, PSP.
Age Rating: 12+ (EU) T (US)
Publisher: Activision
Developer: Eutechnyx

I could just leave this review by saying that the game is god awful and one of the worst games of the decade, but I guess I should more in depth before I come to the conculsion.
Firstly is the overall look of the game. It looks like, well, crap.
I'm serious, it looks like someone spend 3 seconds on the graphics and thought "Yep, nothing more we can do"
Secondly is the minigames. Yes, minigames on a console that is not the Wii.
That's like adding ham to a donut. It doesn't work.
Need I also add that the minigames are repetative, boring and unrewarding? No, you knew that already. My sister's TV has better mingames. A crap version of Tetris (yes, it's really bad)
Thirdly, is the cutscenes. The first two you see really reflect the show Pimp My Ride and make you think that it's a good game. The third one though, and you find out that it's the same cutscene over and OVER again.
Finally, is the controls. One word, s***.
All in all, I'm dissapointed that Activison, a publisher famous for great series's like Tony Hawk and Guitar Hero to put their name on this abomination.
Four words; don't buy this game.

Score: 0.3/10

Saturday, 30 May 2009

Danday Reviews: Castle Crashers

Console: Xbox 360
Age Rating: 16+ (EU) M (US)
Publisher: The Behemoth
Developer: The Behemoth

Remember back the 1990's when we had awesome games like Streets of Rage or Golden Axe? Well, The Behemoth have decided to revive the genre with Castle Crashers. And only one word can express how I feel about the game; amazing.
You play as one of four characters, each with their own special powers, but there are other characters to unlock.
The controls are very fluid and responsive. It sounds like brainless button bashing, but it's like in Sonic Unleashed. There is more than meets the eye. As your character upgrades, you get more button combinations.
The game's soundtrack is really good. It reminds me of 300 for it's epicness.
The game's multiplayer is, however, very good if you have the right people, like all online games.
One downside is the price. This is too little game for 1200 points. 800 points would be a perfect price for this game.
All in all, Castle Crashers is one of The Behemoth's best games. It's fluid, funny and violent. Think a cartoony 300, and you've got it.
It's THAT good!

Score: 9.1/10

Tuesday, 19 May 2009

Danday Reviews: Space Invaders Extreme

Consoles: PSP, DS, Xbox 360
Age Rating: 3+
Publisher: Square Enix

Space Invaders. One of the best games from the golden ages of the 1970’s. And in 2008, it reached its 30th anniversary. So, as expected, a new game has been released.
Space Invaders Extreme, published by Square Enix, famous for the Final Fantasy series, is a completely massive change from the old concept, but keeps the simple rules the same. You’re a ship and you have to shoot aliens. However, you have no shields.
The soundtrack is OK, but it’s better to play Space Invaders with the classic ‘duh-duh-duh-duh’ music.
The remixed version on the main menu is pretty nice though, but it’s not used on the actual stages, which is disappointing.
The gameplay is classic, yet a bit easier, despite not having any shields. Instead, there are power ups.
If you shoot 4 red aliens in a row you get a bomb;
4 blues for a laser, 4 greens for a spread shot and 4 grey’s for a shield.
There are also the ships from the original. White ones give you points, red for points to. Blue ones fire a laser, yellow ones activate a roulette game and flashing ones activate a mini-game. Shoot a certain amount of ships or aliens to get a massive power-up.
The boss battles are OK. They are pretty hard though. You’ll need about 2 lives free to defeat each.
All in all, SIE is extremely addictive, and very fun. For the price you can find it for, it’s great. And it’s just been added to the Xbox Live Marketplace.

Score: 8.7/10

Danday Reviews: Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard

Console: Xbox 360 and PS3
Age Rating: 16+
Publisher: D3 Publisher
Developer: Vicious Cycle

The past 25 years of gaming have been pretty busy. From the debut of the Nintendo Entertainment System and the crap fest that was Halo 3, it was no doubt that there will be a spoof about this era. In the way we were expecting.
Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard is based around Matt Hazard, a video game star from the 80’s that has since become redundant by turning the Matt Hazard series in a new direction. Now, the fictional company Marathon Megasoft have ‘hired’ Matt to star in ‘their first next gen shooter’.
Gameplay is like any other third person shooter. Left Trigger is aim; Right Trigger is shooting etc. etc.
However, something pretty cool is the ‘point-and-cover’ system. You can look at another piece of cover, press Y and you sprint to the cover. I feel though, that this has been used before, if not, well done Vicious Circle.
Also, it IS funny. Not the occasional ‘ha’, it is actually a pretty funny. The script is extraordinary, most notably, one of the mission briefs being ‘Shoot everything that moves.’
There ARE downsides, however. The controls do feel pretty slippery, but this is pretty minor.
The big one is the difficulty. The first boss battle is INFURATING.
I’m not even over exaggerating, it IS pretty hard. Not the fact that the projectiles are hard to avoid, it’s the wave of enemies are never-ending.
All in all, Eat Lead is an OK game, but as a comedy show, it’s very good. Think Little Britain. Very funny, but turn into a game and it’s not as good.

Score: 6.5/10

Thursday, 30 April 2009

Danday Reviews: Halo 3

Console: Xbox 360
Age Rating: 16+
Publisher: Microsoft
Developer: Bungie

Halo, since it’s inception in 2001, has become a world known video game series, with the main character, Master Chief, being the golden nugget of the pack. But does Halo 3, the 2007 release bring the best Halo experience yet?
The simple answer, is no. First of all is the story. Yes, it’s a good campaign, but is amazingly short. You could complete it in about 5 hours with friends, yet still complete it in about 7 hours on your own.
Secondly, is the Forge mode. Yes, it is nice for people to create their own custom maps, but all of the maps are still cluttered with un-removable objects. And even if you spend 1600 Microsoft Points on the two map packs and Heroic for free, only two of the maps are just empty spaces.
Thirdly, and finally, is the online. It’s all well and good by the sounds of things. 16 player multiplayer, 8 player ‘Forge’ mode and 4 player co-op, but there is one downside, the GOD awful connection and players.
I mean, 96% of the time, you will be either matched up with a screaming Halo “noob” (a noob is a brand new player to the game with no knowing of the map/game), someone that is clearly under the age of 11, or someone with too much skill, the no doubt masturbated all of the case 95 times before (that’ll be one sticky Xbox)
All in all, Halo 3 is a bad game. Not the chavy bad, the bad bad. It’s short storyline, pointless Forge mode and annoying multiplayer all adds up to an experience that will end with the quote that your going to say to the Gamestation counter guy/girl, “Please can I trade in this game?”

Score: 4/10

Danday Reviews: Mega Man 9

Consoles: Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, Wii
Age Rating: 7+
Publisher: Capcom

Mega Man has been a long running series. Since the first video game in 1988 on the Nintendo Entertainment System, Mega Man has evolved into a worldwide phenomenon. The latest video game, the ninth instalment in the classic Mega Man series, sees Mega Man in another battle against the evil Dr Wily (why hasn’t Mega Man killed him already?! Then again, why hasn’t Mario killed Bowser or Sonic killed Robotnik yet?) But this time, the story takes a brand new twist, when Dr Light is seen as the bad guy when all of his robots go arid on him.
The gameplay is following suit in the other eight Mega Man games, 2D sidescrolling shooter. But unlike Mega Man 7 and 8, 9 is going back to the classic 8-bit roots. The music is extraordinary, and is a definite must for any gamer’s iTunes.
The game can probably be completed in about 2 hours, but with a wide range of challenges to complete, and downloadable content, people might leave Mega Man on their console for longer than that.
All in all, Mega Man 9 is an amazing game, and shows developers that going back to a game’s roots is the new thing to do. Too bad Bungie aren’t doing that with Halo. Heart-breaking.

Score 9/10

Saturday, 18 April 2009

Danday Reviews: OutRun Online Arcade

Price: 800 Microsoft points
Consoles: Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3
Age: 3+
Publisher: SEGA
Developer: Sumo Digital

OutRun has been with us for over 20 years now, and we've had 3 years (or so) without another OutRun game. With OutRun being my third favourite game series (below Mega Man and Sonic), as you could tell, I was excited about this game.
First good thing is the price. 800 Microsoft points.
I was expecting at least 1200 points.
Secondly, the looks. Yes, it looks like an Xbox game, but really, it looks beautiful still.
Thirdly, is the gameplay. It's good old basic arcade driving.
You don't have to go around bash the crap out of other cars (Wheelman anyone?), nor customize your car in such a crzy way so it goes 345mph (Need for Speed). It's just you, your girlfriend and a drifiting Ferrari that can go nearly 200 mph.
And the multiplayer is great. Sure, it's not the BEST, but what do you expect from an £8 game?
All in all, OROA is an outstanding game and a definate buy if you have a spare 800 points.
Those looking for complicated customisation or mindless bashing of cars, this is not your game. But for people that JUST want to drive, this is your game.
A masterpiece.

Score: 10/10

Saturday, 14 February 2009


This, ladies and gentlemen, is your stop for unbiased reviews by me! Marcus! You know! Right? Oh never mind.
Anywho, expect some reviews of the latest games, and some classics too.
See you all soon!
Marcus 'danday352'